Viv Richards is Omitted from Shaun Tait’s All-Time ODI XI

Former Australia fast bowler Shaun Tait was one of the quickest bowlers in the world. He used to clock speeds over 14o and scaring opponents. Sadly, Tait did not quite live up to his hype due to injury and other players edging him out.

His ODI format sates the most, picking up 62 wickets in just 35 games. Tate was also a star player in the Australian team that won the 2007 Cricket World Cup. 

Tait was asked to pick his all-time favourite ODI team. Interestingly, there was one glaring omission from Taylor’s list: Viv Richards

For opening the match he picked –  Adam Gilchrist and Virender Sehwag. If Gilchrist would tear apart the opposition, then Sehwag was good at being fearless at the top for India. At number three, he picked the former Australian fast bowler Ricky Ponting while excluding Richards because he felt he has not seen the legendary West Indian batter play much. Ponting was an outstanding hitter at the number three position and in 2003 and 2007, he led Australia to two World Cup titles.

At number four and five he picked Sachin Tendulkar and Brain Lara. ODI cricket’s highest run-getter and the greatest hitter needs no introduction. At number six he picked Virat Kohli for most of his ODI career and his identity as a chase master.

It was MS Dhoni at number seven, but he was not sure about. Dhoni scored over 10000 runs and is widely regarded as the best finisher in cricket.

Shaun Tait picks his all-time ODI bowlers

Taylor named Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath, and Shoaib Akhtar as his bowlers, with Warne being the sole spinner. 

Shaun Tait’s all-time ODI XI:

Virender Sehwag, Adam Gilchrist, Ricky Ponting, Sachin Tendulkar, Brain Lara, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath, Shoaib Akhtar.