No Taylor, no de Grandhomme in New Zealand’s World Cup Team

New Zealand’s most-capped T20I player, Ross Taylor, and all-rounder Colin de Grandhomme have been left out of the 15-man squad for the 2021 T20 World Cup in the UAE and the three-match series that follows in India. The team has named Adam Milne as an injury replacement.

Ross Taylor, New Zealand’s most-capped T20I player, was left out of the 15-man squad for the 2019 T20 World Cup, as was Martin Guptill (102 appearances each). De Grandhomme, who last played a T20I for Australia in a home series against India last year, was also ignored.

Todd Astle, 34, will complete the spin-trio alongside Ish Sodhi and Mitchell Santner, the team announced on Monday, August 9. Besides James Neesham, the fast-bowling team includes Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Kyle Jamieson, and Lockie Ferguson. New Zealand is back with Adam Milne, who was part of the setup for their semi-final appearance in last year’s edition. Adam Milne has been named as an injury cover for New Zealand, who reached the semi-finals at last year’s edition.

On August 23, the Blackcaps will depart for their four-month-long subcontinent tour. First, the two nations will play a five-match T20I series in Bangladesh, beginning on August 29, followed by three ODIs and five T20Is in Pakistan. The Kane Williamson-led team will tour India for three T20Is and two Tests after the T20 World Cup. The World Cup squad will not be a part of the Bangladesh tour, where Tom Latham was named captain of an outfit that includes Grandhomme, Doug Bracewell, and Henry Nicholls, among others.

The Pakistanis will be joined by Todd Astle, Mark Chapman, Martin Guptill, and Ish Sodhi for the T20I series. Matt Henry will also appear in the series, which runs from September 25 to October 3. We will announce the squad for the India Tests next month.

Based on the limitations of COVID-19 protocols, NZC chief executive David White believes that the selection committee has selected the best possible long-tour line-up.

 “The need to safeguard the well-being of our players and support staff is now very real, and we’ve endeavoured to do this by carefully managing their workloads over this winter’s massive playing programme,” he said, as reported by Cricbuzz.

I’m satisfied we’ve selected strong squads for all our touring commitments this winter. As the Black Caps proved in England earlier this year, we have good depth in the New Zealand game and I’m confident all the squads chosen will acquit themselves well.

White also confirmed that players from New Zealand participating in the IPL 2021 will be allowed to join their franchises on September 19.

“It’s a pragmatic approach,” he said. “We’ve always tried to be realistic about the IPL and this particular issue is very much a one-off, caused by a unique set of circumstances.

NZ squad for T20 World Cup and India T20Is: Kane Williamson (c), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

Adam Milne (16th man – injury cover)

Squad for Bangladesh T20Is and Pakistan ODIs: Tom Latham (c/wk), Finn Allen, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry (ODI only), Scott Kuggeleijn, Cole McConchie, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears (T20 only), Blair Tickner, Will Young

Squad for Pakistan T20Is: Tom Latham (c/wk), Finn Allen, Todd Astle, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Mark Chapman, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Ajaz Patel, Ish Sodhi, Ben Sears, Blair Tickner, Will Young