The Delhi Capitals have announced a replacement for Chris Woakes

Delhi Capitals, the IPL franchise, made a big announcement today. The Delhi-based franchise’s English all-rounder Chris Woakes has been officially replaced. Woakes pulled out of IPL 2021 before Phase 2 began.

In their overseas department, they already have three fast bowlers. Among the winners of the Purple Cap in the IPL 2020 are Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, and England all-rounder Tom Curran. Umesh Yadav and Ishant Sharma are also experienced, Indian fast bowlers.

Delhi did not use Nortje and Yadav in the first phase of IPL 2021 in India. They used Ishant Sharma, Kagiso Rabada, Chris Woakes and Tom Curran in their pace attack.

The pace-bowling attack of Delhi Capitals, runners-up in the IPL 2020, performed well in the first phase of the IPL 2021. Due to their performance, the Delhi Capitals were ranked number one on the points table when the IPL 2021 season was suspended. 

Who will replace Chris Woakes? 

Chris Woakes, who played for the Delhi Capitals in IPL 2021’s first phase, had withdrawn from the remaining matches. The Capitals have decided to sign an Australian player to fill the vacant overseas spot. 

Woakes is a fast bowler, so the Delhi Capitals have also signed fast bowler Ben Dwarshuis. DC announced the replacement as follows: 

Delhi Capitals today announced that English all-rounder Chris Woakes, who picked up 5 wickets in 3 matches in the first half of the VIVO IPL 2021, has pulled out of the tournament due to personal reasons. The Delhi Capitals have announced Australian fast bowler Ben Dwarshuis as Woakes’ replacement for the remainder of the IPL 2021 season.”

Stay updated with cricketing updates.
Follow our Instagram page –
Follow our Telegram Channel –