The ICC T20 World Cup 2021, a Preview

Yes, it’s finally here! The ICC T20 International World Cup is back. After getting a big change in location, the world cup is ultimately set to emanate from the United Arab Emirates (UAE). The decided stadiums will be the Dubai International Cricket stadium, the Sheikh Zayed stadium and the Sharjah Cricket Stadium. 

This world cup will be a bit different from its predecessors. 8 teams, divided in 2 groups will fight each other, for 4 teams to qualify to the final teams to play in the world cup, also known as the Super 12. 

Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands and Namibia

Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Oman

Super 12 Table 1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1 and B2

Super 12 Table 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, B1 and A2 

With the top 2 teams of each Super 12 group proceeding to the finals, the world cup will take place between 17th Oct to 14th Nov in its entirety. 

In terms of the rules, each team will be given 2 DRS reviews in hand for each innings, making the calls tougher. In case of a tie, a Super Over will be played, and if tied, another will be played until one team wins. With no extra days for bad weather, and no rain expected in the UAE in the coming 3 weeks, the coast seems to be clear.

The winning team will be awarded the trophy with a cash price of USD $1.6 Million. 

The spectators will be allowed, but only fully vaccinated members of the fanbase at a reduced capacity, similarly to the IPL. 

So are you ready for the World Cup?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *